Skip to content

Curried Red Lentil and Kale Stew with Chickpeas

April 8, 2011

This pseudo-Indian stew really hits the spot on a rainy winter night, or on a snowy April night as we just happened to have here two nights ago.  The lentils are tender, the kale has an almost meaty bite, and the chickpeas melt.  Assuming you use a spicy curry powder, this stew also warms you from the inside out.

I came across this recipe via my work’s CSA this past fall and promptly cooked it.  I liked the combination, but it wasn’t really more than the sum of its parts to me.  I was too aware of the separate components as just that – separate.  This week our stockpile of CSA greens demanded that I find more ways of using them and I pulled this recipe back out, adding the juice of a fresh lemon instead of plain yogurt as originally called for.  What a difference!  I’ve eaten this stew three nights in a row now and I’m still considering seconds tonight.  The lemon brightens and somehow allows the kale to mesh perfectly with legumes.  I’m not sure why I didn’t try the lemon before – kale always tastes better with lemon, at least in my opinion.

Curried Red Lentil and Kale Stew with Chickpeas

Curried Red Lentil and Kale Stew with Chickpeas

Serves: 4-6

Time: 35 -45 minutes (depending on how quickly you can slice onions)

2 tbsp. peanut oil

1 large onion, thinly sliced (I happened to use a red onion this time, as that’s what I had on hand.  I think any large type would do.)

5 tsp. curry powder

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

5 1/2 c. vegetable broth

1 large bunch kale, tough stems removed and chopped

1 1/2 c. red lentils

1 15 oz. can chickpeas, drained

juice of one lemon

Heat oil in a large sauce pan over medium-high heat.  Add onion and saute until golden, about 10-15 minutes.  (I typically wash and prep the kale during this step.)  Mix in curry and cayenne, cooking until very aromatic – 1-2 minutes.  Add broth and chard and bring to a boil.  Add lentils and chickpeas; reduce heat to medium.  Cover and simmer until lentils are tender, about 10 minutes.  Add lemon juice and stir.  Serve with naan bread or chapati.

Note on prepping kale: I typically remove the stems as I wash the leaves by holding the stem with one hand and wrapping my other hand around the base of the leaf in a pincer grasp before sliding down to tear the leaf from the stem.  For me, this is much faster than using a knife to cut out the stem.

No comments yet

Leave a comment